Scientific Advisory Group

Committee members

Dr Denis Anderson, CSIRO
Dr Simon Barry, CSIRO
Dr Max Whitten FCAAA, University of Queensland
Dr Boris Baer, Centre for Integrative Bee Research, University of Western Australia
Dr Doug Somerville, NSW Department of Primary Industries
Dr Glynn Maynard, Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
Dr Sharon DeWet, Queensland Department of Employment, Economic Development and Innovation
Mr Trevor Weatherhead, Australian Honey Bee Industry Council

Terms of Reference


• To provide technical advice to the Asian Honey Bee Transition Management Group (AHB TMG) on specific scientific issues as referred to it by the AHB TMG.
• To assist in developing techniques/strategies that minimise the impact of Asian honey bee and to support the transitioning to management program.

What was not covered

The SAG was not required to provide advice on:
• Policy issues
• Program financial matters.

Terms of Reference

The following general Terms of Reference applied:
• To provide technical advice on issues referred to the SAG by the AHB TMG, including technical review of program performance
• To provide advice on technical aspects, time frames and practicality of projects
• To advise if the proposed deliverables are practical and are capable of adoption
• To provide advice on effective delivery of research results to stakeholders
• To assist in the development of, or provide comment on review triggers for the program.

Minutes of meetings

The minutes from the following meetings of the AHB SAG between July 2011 – June 2013 are available:

No comments yet

You must be logged in to post a comment.